Who is Rocio?

Hey there! I am Rocio (pronounced row-see-oh) and I have been working in the mental health field for 5 years. I graduated from University of South Florida with my bachelor’s in psychology (minor in sociology) in 2016 and my master’s in social work in 2019. I have experience working in an inpatient acute psychiatric facility where I worked with patients that have severe mental illness and needed crisis stabilization. I facilitated group therapy, coordinated safe discharges out in the community, provided emotional support to the patient and loved ones, and provided them with community resources.

During the week, I am working at Moffitt Cancer Center where I provide emotional support to patients and caregivers who are in distress, adjusting to illness, experiencing grief, and provide them with resources out in the community. There, I continue to gain experience working with individuals who have severe illness, chronic illness, and older populations.

In these settings and personal settings, I have experience working with people who have severe trauma, fertility issues, and issues faced by the LGBTQ+ community. The modalities and approaches I use (depending on what is best for the individual) are cognitive behavioral therapy, strengths-based therapy, mindfulness therapy, a holistic approach, and an empowering approach.

I strongly believe in providing individuals a safe, non-judgmental space with a caring, empathetic, and supportive attitude. I am constantly learning to be a better therapist for my clients and patients by keeping an open mind, reading, and taking educational courses.

I was born in beautiful California but grew up in Tampa- living here for 25 years now. I have 2 dogs and 1 cat. I am such an animal lover that if I had the time and space, I would have many more. I am happily married to a wonderful man who is a firefighter/paramedic. I enjoy learning about different cultures, trying different kinds of foods, going to concerts/festivals, spending time with my family and friends, and watching true crime documentaries and horror movies. I identify as pansexual, am a daughter of immigrants from Mexico, and grew up in poverty. I feel as though these aspects of my life have given me the perspective to connect with many of my clients and patients.